UN in Belarus :  русский беларуская
 
www.un.org www.un.by
   
 

News

UN basic facts

About Belarus


  History
  State system
  Economy
  Population
  Culture
  Membership in international organizations

Documents

Library

Photo archive

Links

UNDP Vacancies

UN Belarus Vacancies

Procurement

Contacts



Site search
 

Helen Clark Interview to the TV channel Belarus-1

Break Barriers, Open Doors: for all inclusive society and development for all, S.Samarasinha, Y.Oksamitniy

Belarus's Progress in Eliminating Gender inequality praised by UN Representative

Sanaka Samarasinha: Special attention to disabled people in Belarus reduces the likelihood of disaster

     Archive































60 Ways the UN Makes a Difference


  UN in Belarus > About Belarus > Population

Population

According ot preliminary data of population census on 14 October 2009 the population of Belarus was 9.849 thousand people. 53.2% are women, 46.8% are men. 74% of the population live in towns and cities, 26% — in rural areas.

The present age structure in Belarus is characterized by an increased share of older people and a decreased share of children. One out of five citizens of the Republic is in the pension age. The present age composition is mainly the result of the fall in the birth rate.

The present demographic situation in Belarus shows signs of a demographic crisis, primarily testified by the falling birth rate and growing death rate, resulting in the decrease of the total population. For more than 20 years now the generation of children has not equaled numerically the generation of parents. The average family size is 3.2 people.

Factors responsible for the fall in the birth rate:

  • specifics of the age structure (women of the child–bearing age are children of the war children, a reduced generation which decreased the birth rate);
  • unstable socio–economic situation;
  • sharp drop in the living standards of the population;
  • change in the social orientation;
  • ecological consequences of the Chernobyl nuclear accident.

 

National composition. Belarus is a poly–ethnic and poly–confessional state where more than 100 nationalities are represented. The majority of the population are Belarusians (more than 80:). Russians (about 10:), Poles (about 4:), Ukrainians (about 2.5:), as well as Czechs, Slovaks, Lithuanians, Latvians, Jews, Tartars, Azerbaijanis, Armenians, Koreans, Germans, Georgians, Swedes, Estonians, Moldavians, Gypsies and other nationalities live in Belarus.

Churches and religious communities. By virtue of its geopolitical situation, Belarus throughout its history stood at the crossroads between two cultures: Orthodox — Byzantine and Catholic — Roman civilizations. All this has defined its unique cultural and historical position in Europe. The Orthodox and Catholic culture of the people of Belarus was enriched with the achievements of other cultures, while a considerable role in the development of general culture of the people of Belarus belongs to representatives of traditional religions.

The relationships between the two main religions of Belarus — Orthodoxy and Catholicism — were, as a rule, of a tolerant nature. Until the end of the XVII century the Orthodox people of Belarus were a dominating confessional majority. In the XVII — XIX centuries, after the recognition by the Orthodox Church of the supremacy of the Pope of Rome (the Brest Church Unia of 1596), Orthodox believers were forcibly converted into the Uniat Church. By the end of the XVIII century Uniats constituted about 70% of the entire population, Catholics — 15%, Orthodox — 6%, Jews — 7%, Protestants and others — about 2%.
In the middle of the XIX century the Uniat Church was attached to the Russian Orthodox Church.

During the end of the XX century the religious and ethnic self–consciousness of the people of Belarus increased considerably. The population began to see in religion the guarantee of stability, order, inviolability of the spiritual bases of the society, revival of the national traditions of the people. "Religious renaissance" was also promoted by democratization of public life as well as the revision of relations between the church and the state.

 

Confessional relations are regulated by the Law of the Republic of Belarus "On Freedom of Faith and Religious Organizations", which underwent international expertise and was recognized to be adequate to international standards. Every citizen is guaranteed a right to profess any religion or to be an atheist.

Print version
 
 Topics 
Call for Ideas
More...
More...
More...
More...

Other topics

Human Rights
Gender equality

 
 
 
United Nations Office in Belarus
17 Kirov Str., Minsk 220050 Tel. +375 (17) 327 48 76
Fax +375 (17) 226 03 40; e-mail

ООН В БЕЛАРУСИ :  english беларуская
 
www.un.org www.un.by
   
 

Новости

Основные сведения

О Беларуси


  История
  Государство
  Экономика
  Население
  Культура
  Членство в международных организациях

Документы

Библиотека

Полезные ссылки

Вакансии системы ООН

Закупки

Контакты



Поиск по сайту
 




 
 



 

Радио ООН: Экспресс ООН 70

The Minsk Times: Дерево мира и Экспресс ООН 70

Центр новостей ООН: Экспресс ООН совершает поездку по Беларуси

Радио ООН: Об итогах взаимодествия и планах на будущее

Ток-шоу "Форум": Беларусь и ООН

Радио Беларусь - День ООН Интервью с С.Самарасинхой







  Миротворчество ООН













Телевидение и видео


Радио







Международное общественное объединение по научно-исследовательским и информационно-образовательным программам «Развитие»


  ООН в Беларуси > О Беларуси > Население

Население

Численность населения По предварительным данным переписи населения на 14 октября 2009 г. численность населения Республики Беларусь составила 9 млн. 489 тыс. человек. Женщины составляют 53, 4% населения, мужчины — 46.6%. Горожане составляют 74% населения, сельские жители — 26%.
.

ludi

Возрастную структуру современной Беларуси характеризует увеличение доли пожилых людей и снижение доли детей. Каждый пятый житель республики находится в пенсионном возрасте. Данная ситуация сложилась, главным образом, вследствие снижения уровня рождаемости.

Современная демографическая ситуация в Беларуси свидетельствует о явном демографическом кризисе, проявившемся прежде всего в снижении рождаемости и росте смертности населения. Как результат — сократилась общая численность населения. Более 20 лет поколение детей численно не восполняет поколения родителей. Средний размер семьи составляет 3.2 человека.

Причины падения рождаемости:

  • особенности возрастной структуры (в детородный возраст вступили женщины — дети "детей войны", малочисленное поколение которых отразилось на рождаемости);
  •  нестабильность социально–экономической ситуации;
  • резкое падение уровня жизни населения;
  • смена социальных ориентаций;
  • экологические последствия катастрофы на Чернобыльской АЭС

Национальный состав. Беларусь — полиэтническое и поликонфессиональное государство, в котором проживают представители более 100 национальностей. Большинство населения составляют белорусы (более 80%). В Беларуси проживают русские (около 10%), поляки (около 4%), украинцы (около 2.5%), а также чехи, словаки, литовцы, латыши, евреи, татары, азербайджанцы, армяне, корейцы, немцы, грузины, шведы, эстонцы, молдоване, цыгане и другие.

vlesu

Церкви и религиозные общины. Беларусь, в силу геополитического положения, всю свою историю стояла на стыке двух культур: православно–византийской и католическо–романской цивилизаций. Это определило ее уникальное культурное и историческое положение в Европе. Православно–католическая культура народа Беларуси обогащалась достижениями других культур, но значительная роль в развитии общей культуры народа Беларуси принадлежит представителям традиционных религий.

church

Взаимоотношения двух основных религий Беларуси — православия и католицизма — носили, как правило, толерантный характер. До конца XVII века православный народ Беларуси составлял доминирующее конфессиональное большинство. В XVII–XIX века, после признания православной церковью верховенства Папы Римского (Брестская церковная уния), православные насильственно переводятся в униатство. Конец XVIII века — униаты составляли до 70% всех жителей Беларуси, католики — 15%, православные — 6%, иудеи — 7%, протестанты и другие — около 2%. Середина XIX века — униатская церковь присоединена к православной. Православное население вновь стало доминировать.

xod

Конец XX века — значительный рост религиозно–этнического самосознания народа Беларуси. В религии стали видеть гарантию стабильности, порядка, незыблемости духовных устоев общества, возрождение национальных традиций народа. "Религиозному Ренессансу" способствовала демократизация общественной жизни, а также пересмотр отношений между церковью и государством.

В настоящее время в Беларуси действует Закон "О свободе вероисповеданий и религиозных организациях", который прошел международную экспертизу и был признан отвечающим международным стандартам. Каждому гражданину предоставлено право исповедовать любую религию или быть атеистом. 

Версия для печати
 
 Актуальные темы 
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...

Другие темы


 
 
 
Представительство ООН в Беларуси
220050 г. Минск, ул. Кирова 17; тел. +375 (17) 327 48 76
факс +375 (17) 226 03 40; e-mail